Guide · 10 min read

The Best Parking App for Washington DC

Updated August 2026 · We build a DC parking app, so read this with that in mind — every claim below is sourced, including the ones that favor other apps.

The short answer

There is no single best DC parking app, because "parking in DC" is four unrelated jobs. Use ParkMobile to pay a meter, SpotHero to book a garage, DC DMV to pay a ticket, and ParkDC Permits for RPP and visitor permits. The fourth job — knowing whether you can legally park on the block you are looking at — has no dependable answer yet.

  • Best for tourists: SpotHero — prepaid garages near the Mall and downtown remove all sign-reading risk.
  • Best for paying meters: ParkMobile — it is the official DC meter payment app, so there is no real alternative.
  • Best for DC residents: ParkDC Permits for RPP and visitor passes, plus DC DMV for tickets.
  • Best for street parking: nothing today reads the block's stacked signs — that is the gap Curblee is built for.

Search for a DC parking app and you get a pile of results that appear to compete but actually do completely different things. One takes your meter payment. One sells you a garage space. One guesses how crowded a neighborhood is. None of them look at the four signs bolted to the pole in front of your car.

That distinction matters more in Washington DC than almost anywhere else, because DC stacks restrictions on the same stretch of curb: a rush-hour no-parking lane, a residential permit limit, a street cleaning window, and a meter schedule can all apply to one space at different hours — and the strictest one that is active wins. Paying the meter correctly and still getting towed out of a rush-hour lane is a normal DC experience.

So instead of ranking apps against each other, this guide sorts them by the job they actually do.

1. Every DC Parking App, By Job

The last column is the one that matters if you park on the street: does the app tell you whether it is legal to park where you are?

Comparison of Washington DC parking apps by the job they do and whether they interpret curb legality
AppWhat it actually doesReads the curb?
ParkMobilePays on-street meters by zone numberNoPayment only — it never checks whether the space is legal
ParkDC Permits (DDOT)Manages residential and visitor parking permitsNoPermit administration, not block-level rules
DC DMV app / portalLooks up and pays parking ticketsNoArrives after the mistake, not before
SpotHeroPrepaid garage, lot, valet and event reservationsNoOff-street only — no curb space at all
ParkWhiz / ArriveOff-street reservations and parking payment infrastructureNoSame category as SpotHero; DC consumer status unclear in 2026
ParkopediaSearches lots, garages and metered spotsPartlyLists meters, but curb-restriction depth is unclear
SpotAngelsMaps street parking data, free spots and ticket alertsPartlyClosest existing option; accuracy is self-reported
Google / Apple MapsNavigation plus parking difficulty predictionNoPredicts availability, not legality

Eight products, and the "reads the curb" column is empty. That is the actual state of DC parking software in 2026.

2. What Each One Costs You

Every app in this list is free to download, which is not the same as free to use. Here is where the money actually goes.

Swipe table →

How each Washington DC parking app charges you
AppHow it chargesWorth it when
ParkMobileMeter rate plus a per-session transaction feeAlways — it is the District's meter payment system
ParkDC Permits (DDOT)Free app; you pay the permit fee itselfYou hold an RPP or issue visitor passes
DC DMV app / portalFree app; you pay the fineYou already have a ticket to handle
SpotHeroPrepaid garage rate, booking margin includedEvents, downtown, or any trip where a guaranteed spot beats hunting
ParkopediaFree to search; you pay the operatorComparing nearby garage prices before committing
SpotAngelsFree tier with paid upgrade tiersYou want street-parking hints and are fine verifying signs yourself
Google / Apple MapsFreeNavigation and a rough read on how crowded an area is
CurbleeFree waitlist, free guides and status tool todayYou park on the street and want the legality answer, not the payment

The cheapest line item in DC parking is not an app fee — it is the $30–$100 ticket you did not get. That is the math that makes the missing "is this legal?" answer the expensive gap.

3. Paying The Meter: ParkMobile

ParkMobile is DC's pay-by-phone provider for on-street meters, so this one is not really a choice — it is the system the District runs. Every metered block has a zone number posted on the meter or a nearby sign, and that number is what you enter in the app.

ParkMobile's own zone documentation puts DDOT meter zones in the 2100–24999 range, excluding 22996. Other DC operators sit in their own ranges — National Park Service meters around the Mall are a separate block of zone numbers, as are certain private garages. The practical consequence: always type the number on the pole in front of you rather than reusing the zone you paid yesterday, because two adjacent blocks can belong to different operators entirely.

What ParkMobile does not do

It takes your money for a zone. It does not verify that the space you are in is a legal space. A successful ParkMobile session in a rush-hour lane, in front of a hydrant, too close to an intersection, or during a street cleaning window still earns a ticket and possibly a tow. The receipt is not a defense.

One thing worth knowing: ParkMobile was breached in March 2021, affecting around 21 million users. Exposed data included email addresses, phone numbers, dates of birth, license plates, mailing addresses, and hashed passwords — credit card data was not reported stolen. DC was one of the affected markets, and a class-action settlement was still being administered into late 2024. It remains the official meter app; just use a unique password.

4. Booking A Garage: SpotHero And Friends

SpotHero is a reservation marketplace for off-street parking: garages, lots, valet, airport, and event parking, across several hundred North American cities including DC. You prepay a specific space and arrive knowing it exists.

Where it genuinely beats us: if you are driving to a Capitals game, a wedding downtown, or anything near the Wharf at peak time, a prepaid garage is the correct answer. A guaranteed space for a known price is worth more than hunting for curb space you may never find. No curb-rules app changes that.

Where it does not help: it has nothing to say about the street. Metered curb, RPP blocks, rush-hour lanes, sweeping windows — all outside its product. It does not claim otherwise.

ParkWhiz is the name people still search, but the trail is tangled: it rebranded to Arrive in January 2019, Arrive merged with FlashParking in January 2021, and the Arrive name was later acquired by EasyPark. Whether a standalone consumer ParkWhiz app is still operating in DC in 2026 is genuinely unclear — check the app store before you rely on it. Category-wise it was always off-street booking, never curb interpretation.

Free tool

Which RPP zone am I in?

Look up DC Residential Permit Parking Zones 1–8 by neighborhood, with boundaries and the ticket traps on each zone's blocks.

Find my parking zone →

Free map

Where does DC write the most tickets?

Explore 1.6 million+ DC parking citations mapped to the street segment — see the hottest blocks before you park.

Open ticket heatmap →

5. Permits And Tickets: The Official Apps

Two DC government tools are worth having if they apply to you.

ParkDC Permits — DDOT

DDOT's official app for residential and visitor parking permit management. Since August 1, 2025, visitor parking permits are fully digital and tied to a license plate rather than a paper hangtag, handled through DDOT's online permit portal. If you have guests parking on an RPP block, this is the system you use. See our RPP guide for the application and renewal details.

DC DMV — tickets

DC DMV lists its mobile app alongside the web portal, phone, mail, and in-person options for paying parking tickets. Useful, but reactive by definition — it is where you go after the citation. Our tickets guide covers fine amounts, deadlines, and contesting.

6. The Ones That Try To Read The Street

Two products get closer to the real question, and it would be dishonest to skip them.

SpotAngels is the nearest thing to a competitor. It maps DC street parking, publishes DC-specific street cleaning and RPP material, and markets free-spot finding plus ticket alerts. If you want something today rather than at our launch, this is the one to try. The honest caveat applies to them and to us equally: coverage and accuracy claims for this kind of data are self-reported, not certified by DDOT, so verify against the sign before you walk away from your car.

Parkopedia indexes DC lots, garages, and metered spots. It is strong as a directory. How deeply it models curb restrictions — permit-only blocks, sweeping schedules, rush-hour lanes — is not clear from its public material, so treat it as a place-finder rather than a rules engine.

And to close out a common assumption: Google Maps and Apple Maps do not show DC parking rules. Google's parking difficulty feature predicts how hard finding a space will be, and both can point you at nearby garages. That is availability, not legality. Neither displays RPP boundaries, rush-hour hours, or sweeping windows.

7. What A Realistic DC Setup Looks Like

  • ParkMobile — non-negotiable if you ever park at a meter.
  • DC DMV app or portal — for checking and paying citations, including before an impound release, where unpaid tickets block you from getting the car back.
  • ParkDC Permits — only if you hold an RPP or issue visitor permits.
  • A garage app — SpotHero or similar, for events and peak downtown trips.
  • Something for the curb — currently SpotAngels, or our free DC parking status tool and street parking rules guide, which need no account. Our DC parking ticket heatmap also shows which blocks get ticketed most.

Three or four apps to handle payment and booking — and still nothing that answers "can I park here." That gap is the entire reason we are building Curblee: one question, one answer, before you walk away from the car.

Frequently Asked Questions

What parking app does Washington DC use for meters?

DC uses ParkMobile for pay-by-phone at on-street meters. Every metered block has a zone number posted on the meter or a nearby sign, and you enter that number in the app. ParkMobile's own documentation lists DDOT zone numbers in the 2100–24999 range (excluding 22996). Separate zone ranges cover other operators, including National Park Service meters near the Mall, so the zone posted on the pole is what decides where your payment goes.

Is there an official DC government parking app?

There are two official apps, and neither is a general parking finder. DDOT publishes ParkDC Permits for residential and visitor parking permit management, and DC DMV has a mobile app that pays tickets. DDOT's ParkDC program site is the official source for meter and curb policy information. Since August 1, 2025, visitor parking permits are fully digital and license-plate based through DDOT's online permit portal.

What is the best app for DC street parking?

No app currently gives a reliable, block-level yes-or-no answer on whether street parking is legal where you are standing. ParkMobile pays meters but does not read signs. SpotHero and similar services book off-street garages, not curb space. SpotAngels maps DC street parking data including street cleaning and RPP information, which makes it the closest existing option, though its coverage and accuracy are the company's own claims rather than official DDOT data. This gap is the reason Curblee exists.

Does SpotHero work for street parking in DC?

No. SpotHero is a reservation marketplace for garages, lots, valet, airport, and event parking. You prepay for a specific off-street space. It does not cover metered curb space, residential permit blocks, rush-hour lanes, or street cleaning, and it makes no claim to. If your goal is a guaranteed spot near a destination and you accept garage pricing, it works well. If your goal is parking on the street, it is the wrong tool.

Does ParkWhiz still work in DC?

ParkWhiz rebranded to Arrive in January 2019, Arrive merged with FlashParking in January 2021, and the Arrive name was later acquired by EasyPark. Whether a standalone consumer-facing ParkWhiz app still operates in DC in 2026 is unclear, so check the app store listing before relying on it. Either way, the product category was off-street reservation and parking payment infrastructure, never curb-rule interpretation.

Does Google Maps show DC parking rules?

No. Google Maps has a parking difficulty feature that predicts how hard it will be to find a space near your destination, and it can surface nearby garages and lots. Both are availability signals, not legality signals. There is no evidence that Google Maps or Apple Maps display DC street parking restrictions, RPP zone boundaries, rush-hour lane hours, or street cleaning windows.

Can any app tell me if I can legally park here in DC?

Not dependably today. Every product in the market solves an adjacent problem: paying, booking, or predicting availability. Reading the actual sign stack on a specific DC block — where a rush-hour restriction, an RPP limit, a street cleaning window, and a meter schedule can all apply to the same 40 feet of curb, and where the strictest sign wins — is the part that is still unsolved. That is the single question Curblee is built to answer.

Do I need more than one parking app in DC?

Right now, yes. A realistic DC setup is ParkMobile for meters, the DC DMV app or ticket portal for fines, ParkDC Permits if you hold an RPP or issue visitor permits, and a garage app like SpotHero for events and downtown trips. That is three or four apps covering payment and booking, with nothing covering whether the space you found is legal in the first place.

Was ParkMobile hacked, and was DC affected?

Yes. In March 2021 ParkMobile suffered a data breach affecting roughly 21 million users, disclosed publicly that April. Exposed data included email addresses, phone numbers, dates of birth, license plate numbers, mailing addresses, and hashed passwords; credit card data was not reported stolen. Washington DC was among the affected markets since ParkMobile is the District's cashless meter app. A class-action settlement was still being administered into late 2024.

Is there a free parking app for DC?

The apps themselves are generally free to download. ParkMobile charges a per-session transaction fee on top of the meter rate, garage booking apps make money on the reservation, and DDOT's permit app and DC DMV's ticket app are free government services. Curblee's waitlist is free to join, and our DC parking status tool and guides are free to use with no account.

Keep Reading